June 14, 2013 Friday

I just got moved by this one:

The
Visit
Ruth went to her mail box, and there was only one
letter. She picked it up and looked at it before opening it, but then she looked
at the letter again.
There was no stamp, no postmark, only her name and
address. She read the letter:

Dear Ruth:

I’m going to be in
your neighborhood Saturday afternoon, and I’d like to stop by for a
visit.

Love Always,
Jesus

Her hands were shaking as she placed the letter on the table. “Why would the Lord want to visit me? I’m nobody special. I don’t have anything to offer.”

With that thought, Ruth
remembered her empty kitchen cabinets. “Oh my goodness, I really don’t have
anything to offer. I’ll have to run down to the store and buy something for
dinner.” She reached for her purse and counted out its contents. Five dollars
and forty cents. “Well! I can get some bread and cold cuts, at
least.”

She threw on her coat and hurried out the door.

A loaf of
French bread, a half-pound of sliced turkey, and a carton of milk…leaving Ruth
with grand total twelve cents to last her until Monday.

Nonetheless, she
felt good as she headed home, her meager offerings tucked under her
arm.

“Hey lady, can you help us, lady?”

Ruth had been so absorbed
in her dinner plans, she hadn’t even noticed two figures huddled in the
alleyway. A man and a woman, both of them dressed in little more than
rags.

“Look lady, I ain’t got a job, ya know, and my wife and I have been
living out here on the street, and, well, now it’s getting cold, and we’re
getting kinda hungry and, well, if you could help us, lady, we’d really
appreciate it.”

Ruth looked at them both.

They were dirty, they
smelled bad, and frankly, she was certain that they could get some kind of work
if they really wanted to.

“Sir, I’d like to help you, but I’m a poor
woman myself. All I have is a few cold cuts and some bread, and I’m having an
important guest for dinner tonight, and I was planning on serving that to
Him.”

“Yeah, well, okay lady, I understand. Thanks anyway.”

The
man put his arm around the woman’s shoulders, turned, and headed back into the
alley.

As she watched them leave, Ruth felt a familiar twinge in her
heart.

“Sir, wait!” The couple stopped and turned as she ran down the
alley after them. “Look, why don’t you take this food. I’ll figure out something
else to serve my guest.”

She handed the man her grocery
bag.

“Thank you lady. Thank you very much!”

“Yes, thank you!” It
was the man’s wife, and Ruth could see now that she was shivering. “You know,
I’ve got another coat at home. Here, why don’t you take this one.” Ruth
unbuttoned her jacket and slipped it over the woman’s shoulders. Then smiling,
she turned and walked back to the street…without her coat and with nothing to
serve her guest.

Ruth was chilled by the time she reached her front door
and worried too. The Lord was coming to visit, and she didn’t have anything to
offer Him.

She fumbled through her purse for the door key. But as she
did, she noticed another envelope in her mailbox.

“That’s odd. The
mailman doesn’t usually come twice in one day.” She took the envelope out of the
box and opened it.

Dear Ruth:

It was so good to see you
again. Thank you for the lovely meal. And thank you, too, for the beautiful
coat.

Love Always,
Jesus

The air was still cold, but even
without her coat, Ruth no longer noticed.

it’s
from GodVine…. I’m still feeling the tingles.
I got up all sore from
yesterday’s rush of activity I went thru. I got out to trim shrubs with the
WeedHog. Electric thing. Weighs more than a gallon of milk, that’s for sure.
Well, we had this little fight and it won. I nearly fell over and it turned
itself off. That I am glad of. The trimmings are waiting to be raked. They can
wait. The shrubs look skinny now and the air is coming thru. That was my
objective. I could only reach so far up, so I’ll still have to get a ladder,
which I am scared to do, but … I’m gonna do it to save some money so I can get
BamBam all fixed up. The machine has a safety feature so I can’t cut me, only
burn a little if it gets too hot. Just the fall could hurt. It’s close to the
house so I could lean against it. I’m glad this doesn’t have to be done often –
I don’t look forward to this. The darned neighbor refused to take care of his
trees and has been that way since he moved in 15 years ago. He’s had a lot of
girlfriends though. And, doesn’t practice safe sex. 3 kids now … sad part is
he doesn’t hold down a regular job but always has a big flashy smile for the
ladies. How superflishal can one guy get? ugh!! son has been busier than a
one-armed paperhanger with a/cs going out on ppl’s cars … 10 hours days plus!
Our own house a/cs are complaining too. God help us all. The mid part of summer
isn’t even here yet for Texas … I just gave myself a vitamin B-Complex
injection to help survive this and day before yest went for that Shingles
injection – last thing I need is to come down with something that – God forbid.
My dream was about getting stung by a flying thingy while on the ladder with
that hedger going. That’s already happened once so I hope that’s just a re-do
memory reminding me to spray before treading up there again. God talks in so
many ways, we must listen…not listening is dreadful! I’m about to call the
surgeon for a update on BamBam’s coughing which she’s still doing n I have only
one day’s med left. I think we’re going for a culture. OK, whatever makes her
healthy is going to be ok with me – she’s such a darling and I have my Diazapam,
if needed. She looked gorgeous so I have accomplished major feats over the past
two years with her health, without a Vet’s help. I only go to them for RXs and
surgery now, unless I can’t do it. LOL When I tried all the RX shampoos and
spent so darned much money, & she looked dead one morning, I almost fainted.
I knew my heart couldn’t take another one of those mornings, I had to take
charge. This is about 2 years later. Her coughing started almost immediately
after the facial surgery so I believe something happened in that surgery to her
throat, but not positive, the doctor suspected that and he is the surgeon. I
didn’t sugest it, he made the comment. Gotta love the man, his attitude is
“let’s fix it”, not “who did it”. He loves the animal first. His momma raised
him right.

Enough chatter, got to get my day going. Thank you Marie!

May your day be blessed with God’s white light and you baiste in
HIS glory … xoxo

Leave a Reply

